Dynamische Navigation einblenden
Dynamische Navigation ausblenden
View image in full height View image at half height
You are here:
  1. Mainz Impulse

Mainz Impulse

With the digitalisation of printing, knowledge of traditional printing technology is increasingly being lost. Creating attention for the preservation of Gutenberg's technology and securing the technical know-how for future generations, these are the goals of the "Mainz Impulse". On September 30th, 2020, the "Mainzer Impuls", initiated by the director of the Gutenberg Museum, Dr. Annette Ludwig, was signed by the Lord Mayor of the state capital of Mainz, Mr. Michael Ebling, and the head of the Department of Culture, Ms. Marianne Grosse. This enabled the call to be anchored in cultural policy. Due to the global pandemic, only a few representatives of museums, associations and workshops concerned with the "Black Art" could be invited to the first signing of the "Mainz Impulse". The following information contains the full text of the Mainz Impulse and additional press material.

The initiators

Dr. Annette Ludwig Director of the Gutenberg-Museum
Michael Ebling Lord Mayor of the state capital Mainz
Marianne Grosse Head of the cultural department of the state capital Mainz

The signatories

Dr. Julia Bangert Managing Director of the International Gutenberg Society in Mainz e.V.
Dr. Jürgen Franssen Chairman of the Verein für die Schwarze Kunst e.V., Heidelberg
Dr. Thomas Glöß Chairman of the Leipziger Bibliophilen-Abend e.V.
Dr. Helmut Gold Director of the Museum for Communication, Frankfurt a.M. and Curator of the Museum Foundation Post and Telecommunications
Rudolf Paulus Gorbach Seminar "Typography intensive"
Dr. Mechthild Haas Head of the Graphic Collection with department for type casting, typesetting and printing processes at the Hessisches Landesmuseum, Darmstadt
Volker Hans FDP-Finthen, member of the committee for finances and participation of the city council of Mainz
Wolfgang Hartmann Typographer and publisher
Dr. Stephanie Jacobs Director German Book and Script Museum, German National Library, Leipzig
Jana Madle-Elmerhaus Communication designer and agency manager
Monsignore Klaus Mayer Honorary citizen of the state capital Mainz
Dr. Roger Münch Director of the German Newspaper Museum, Wadgassen
Dr. Harry Neß Chairman of the International Working Group for Print and Media History
Dr. Susanne Richter Director of the Museum of Printing Arts, Leipzig
Reinhard Riedel Chairman of the Erlebniswerkstatt Buchdruck-Museum
Judith Schalansky Writer and book designer
Bertram Schmidt-Friderichs personally and as German Liaison Chairman of the Type Directors Club of new York and Managing Director of the publishing house Hermann Schmidt
Daniela Schmitt State Secretary in the Ministry of Economics, Transport, Agriculture and Viticulture of the State of Rhineland-Palatinate
Christel Schulte Employee Druckladen Gutenberg-Museum
Eckehart SchumacherGebler Offizin Haag Drugulin, Dresden
Dr. Stefan Soltek Director of the Klingspor Museum Offenbach and board member of the AEPM
Gerhard Steidl Drucker und Verleger, Göttingen
Herrmann Wiest FDP Faction Mainz

By using this website, you agree that this site uses cookies. Further information by using the following link